Colour me a lettuce leaf

JANSALADADAY_LONG

It’s baaaaaack!

I started #jansaladaday a few years back in the wake of an overindulgent festive season. You been there too? Well I was feeling blergh.

What I didn’t appreciate was the connection between eating well and a clearer, calmer head. Seriously, the connection is phenomenal. If we feed our bodies healthy, nutritious food that tastes amazing the health benefits are far greater than our waistlines. If 90% of serotonin (our bodies feel good chemical) lives in our gut then it makes complete sense to look after that gut. When I talk for beyondblue I can often be heard saying, “if you eat shit you feel shit.” And it really is as simple as that.

I have been working on a whole raft of gut healing habits to give myself the best fighting chance. I’ve been drinking bone broth (I call it beef jelly – squirm!) along with fermented miso and nori sheets. I am not loving it but I am noticing a few things – my hair, nails and skin are improving as is my bowel regularity. There is a lot of talk of poo in this house!

I’ll talk this year a bit more about how I colour myself well. Little tips and tricks that have worked for me and may help you too. Does that sound like something you’d be interested in? I do hope so.

IMG_3010

I have also set a list of New Year’s intentions. I don’t do resolutions. Here they are:

In 2015, I intend to continue to nourish my body, heal my gut, exercise for my head, manage my anxiety, hug my kids hard, live in the moment and calm the fuck down. 

But first, salad! It is not all lettuce leaves and counting calories. It is actually none of that. It is about eating great food and making it fun. So today, and for the next month my Facebook page and Instagram feed will be full of salady yummity. Each week I will do a salad round up and share recipes. There will be guest salads and fruit salads and big salads and take away salads and even a deconstructed salad because, wanker. I will only promise one thing, I am not going to take myself too seriously. It is an intention. Plus I am not a food stylist, chef, nutritionist or photographer. I am a mum of four who is trying to eat well in January.

So here are not one, but two new salads on day one of #jansaladaday for 2015. Because you guys rock and I am feeling generous.

DAY ONE SALAD ONE : cherry tomatoes | lemon rind | torn mozzarella | torn basil

{Torn because it is both fun and sounds a bit wankerish. I throw a whole lot of avocado oil on the top and this is seriously the easiest salad you’ll ever make}

IMG_3541

DAY ONE SALAD TWO : couscous | goats cheese | toasted pistachios | pistachio dukkah | mango | snow pea sprouts | lime juice | avocado oil

{This would be equally great with quinoa for a gluten free version or roasted pumpkin instead of mango for a fruit free version}

IMG_3540

We are off, so it seems. Happy New Year and I hope to see you and your salady faces soon.

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Colour me a salad summer-y « colourmeanna

  2. Pingback: Colour me feta slash fetta « colourmeanna

Leave a comment