Colour me a salad summer-y

JANSALADADAY_LONG

You like that play on words huh? Summary. Summer-y.

Sometimes I outdo myself. Amazing literary skills right there. Stay tuned for more of that folks…there is plenty of dagginess behind these pages.

It seems that this salad thing is quite popular. This makes me happy. As does eating salad. So here is the week that was in salad eating…

You can check out my DAY ONE salads here.

DAY TWO : chickpeas {‘marinated’ in garlic, olive oil, lemon juice + chopped parsley} | shaved parmesan | baby spinach

{This recipe was featured in Marie Claire’s Off the Shelf by Donna Hay}

I am not a massive fan of chickpeas but this is a winner. And it tastes even better the next day.

IMG_3565

DAY THREE: chicken breasts cooked in coconut oil | vermicelli rice noodles | carrots | snow peas | mint | {dressing of fish sauce, lime juice, honey + chilli}

To make this even easier, I should have used a barbecued chook and then the only cooking would have been to boil the kettle for the noodles!

IMG_3575

DAY FOUR : iceberg lettuce cut into wedges | {dressing of feta, greek yoghurt, lemon juice + olive oil} | chopped chives

{This recipe was taken from a delicious magazine, published in February 2013}

I needed to add a little water to the dressing as the feta I used was quite thick. It would have made the dressing a little runnier.

IMG_3595

DAY FIVE SALAD ONE : breakfast salad | rocket | Christmas ham | scrambled egg with pesto | coffee

IMG_3635

DAY FIVE SALAD TWO : wombok cabbage | radish | peas | mint | parmesan | red chilli | lime juice | olive oil

IMG_3648

DAY SIX : roasted sweet potato | bacon | pine nuts | {buttermilk, lime juice + parsley dressing} | rocket | watercress

IMG_3707

So there is week one with a plethora of healthy eating for you. There is a definite correlation for me with self esteem and diet. I have been gobbling some ace salads but a fair few beers and sweet treats too. My aim in the next week is to curb the sugar cravings and refocus back on my gut health. Expect to see some fermented vegetables soon!

What salad adventures have you been getting up to?

One response

  1. Pingback: Colour me in tight jeans « colourmeanna

Leave a comment